current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

big girl voice
2003-08-28, 10:45 p.m.

I'm wondering what happened to my freedom of choice...

Wondering what happened to my big girl voice...

I swear I just sat it down for a second

next to those AIDS rally fliers

and that book of matches...

from that pub in Chicago.

I guess I forgot to pick it all back up

like I forgot to pick up my sanity

when I sat it down that January

that she didn't exactly waltz,

but more inexactly walked into my life.

And suddenly I am scared.

I am scared. and shaking,

faking poetic ability,

making up and spitting out bullshit lines

and rhymes ain't nobody got time for...

but guess what, kids...

This is my time to take the floor...

My time to fuck the mic.

Even if I'm shakin'.

Even if I'm fakin' it.

And, baby... I'm a good. fucken. faker.

So come one, come all,

come on -

do I got any takers?

Get UP on my fucken stage

And try to take this shit from me

Just call me little Miss. Understanding.

Little Miss. Leading.

Little Miss. Informed.

Little Miss. Don't fuck with me no more.

Because I've lost my freedom of choice.

I've lost. my big girl voice...

Just a little Miss. Placement.

Little Miss. Placemat.

Yeah... that's me.

Little. Miss. Placemat.

Doormat.

Dormant floormat.

Take that shit and shove it down your Shakespeare quotin' throat.

Sure, I play the hardcore card.

Shoutin' and screamin' and stompin' about.

I am. unapproachable.

Inappropriate.

Little Miss. Appropriated.

Bitchin' at the judges...

Holdin' score-creep grudges...

Fuckin' up all of your minds

tryin' to read between the lines of these rhymes.

but I care...

Nah. Really I do.

I really care what you think of me...

Fuck. This litte miss got feelin's too.

I just lost my freedom of choice...

Just... lost my big girl voice...

I swear. I just sat it down for a fucking second...

Somewhere...

over. there.?

last - next