current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

The ABC's they didn't teach you in grade school.
2003-06-10, 6:58 p.m.

My brother taught me my alphabet

when I was three years old

on a broken down, brown backporch in Arkansas...

A is for asshole,

B is for blacklisted

because D, daddy is a truckdriver

and momma works at EZ Mart...

A is for angry

because the U.S. of A. makes it

U, unacceptable to be on W.I.C.

in this rich man's democracy.

B is for the bullshit

I had to put up with in gradeschool -

the name-calling

the hair-pulling

the hand-me-down clothing.

C is for the commodity peanut butter sandwiches

that i threw in the dumpster

behind the cafeteria everyday

because momma was too proud for free lunches.

D is for the detention

that I got E, everyday for telling everyone to

F. U. C. K. OFF.

for calling me garage. sale. girl.

A is for the abomination of this

B, bullshit nation

in which little girls find elation

in stealing food from gas stations.

A is for the assinine state

of this fallic "democracy",

a presidency handed over to a babe in his infancy,

all due to some discrepancy

in the misplacement of residency

in FLORIDA.

FLA. FLA.

Ya know, FUCK FLORIDA.

Nobody lives there anyway...

Except granny and gramps,

tooling around in their Winnebago,

getting fat off of old Walt's cash...

'cept no one's getting fat 'cept Mama Cass...

Except she died like everyone else.

G is for greed.

H is for hunger.

And I...

I'm fucking sick and tired of having to wonder

when this whole fucking nation is going to go under

hiding behind the thunder of applause of George W's reelection.

Because that's what's going to happen...

Isn't it?

J is for finding justification

in "forgetting" to vote.

K is for the killing spree

that i'm going to have to go on

if you all just sit on your asses

and pay all of your taxes like good. little. Americans.

Americans.

Put us all under one name and we are all one and the same.

A is for American.

B is for Blind.

all being fed the same line of "white... is right."

having "red and yellow black and white, we are precious in his sight"

SHOVED down our fucking throats.

Precious in whose sight?

Your god's. Or mine?

A is for Allah.

B is for Buddah.

C is for Christ.

And as we all know,

Christ was a Jew...

but those pretty boy Nazis killed all of them too...

And what's a poor girl like me gotta DO

to get a break around here?

Everytime I get near the top,

someone raises the stakes...

And I'm up here...

Doing everything it fucking takes

to RELEARN *my* alphabet.

A is for activisim, antiracism, anarchy.

B is for building bridges and breaking down barriers.

C is for finding my *own* cultural identity.

And... I'm still working on the rest.

last - next