current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

orange barrels
2003-06-06, 6:58 p.m.

The moon is a fingernail imprint tonight...

A scar left over from her

too-tight grip and indian-burn eyes,

Playing hide-and-seek

behind the smoke spilling from my cracked window.

Cracked out

and cranked up,

I am crawling down I-35

past the row of orange barrels...

1, 2, 3... 4,675 orange barrels

that she swore they didn't put up until 8.

But it's 7:35 and 95 degrees outside....

and I'm fucking crawling down I-35...

as fast. as. I. can.

away from her.

cat scratches. and vampire bites.

cascading down my arms.

away from her.

velvet black handgun

that she keeps by the alarm clock.

away from her.

40-year-old car

that stubbornly refuses to start.

And I guess that's the difference between me. and. her.

us. we. he... she... it. they.

She... is stuck.

My xenophobic Xanax baby.

My agoraphobic acid lady.

Growing shrooms in a pressure cooker in her closet...

Growing ready-made, pre-packaged families

complete with husbands and nine-month-old babies.

Tying her apron strings a little too tight

for that three hour trans-Texas flight

back to that place

that hates queers and piercings

and women who don't know their places.

back to that place

that loves guns

but hates her fuck you attitude...

That attitude that I adored

until I was standing at her door,

surreptitiously sneaking out

before daddy came home

to his homecooked meal

that I drove her to the store. to. buy.

And I'm left...

clenching my fists,

flipping over my ivory wrists...

clutching for straws

in those fingernail imprints.

last - next