current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

Words Unsent.
2002-08-06, 7:00 p.m.

I've spent all my words,

Left only with letters unsent.

Unspoken.

Broken up and shoved in notebooks...

Hidden in closets...

Hidden from her eyes...

Eyes too big for their frames,

Overflowing into feathers

Stale with time.

Her back to my front,

My front to her back,

My face in her hair...

Smoke and shampoo -

Scents of time well spent

And the lingering stench of words unspoken...

And I'm lying here broken

Between a woman and a life -

Am I the husband or the wife?

Will it be the pills or the knife?

Some end to this...

Life spent indecisive and afraid;

Life spent hiding under the covers...

In the closet...

Tucked away from my mother's eyes,

Eyes too small for their frames -

Beady and squinting...

Condescending

A life I'm too afraid to live...

So I lie here broken

Into tiny pieces...

One for my mother

One for the wife,

One for the Father,

The other for the knife...

My tiny piece to cut out the life

I need.

Each scar, a road I've travelled,

Hidden in my sleeves...

Draggin' the blade.

Watchin' it bleed...

'Cause I've spent all my words,

Left only with letters unspent.

Unspoken.

I stand here.

Broken.

last - next