current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

one of them shit fuck damn poets
2003-03-28, 9:13 p.m.

I write because I didn't know I had a choice,

Didn't know I had a voice outside of

rhythm and rhyme

syntax and time

structure and

grimy slampoets

paid with pizza coupons

and five dollar bills,

paving their ways with papertowel poetry

and paperback hardcopies.

Don't give a shit about Shakespeare

and his fourteen line sonnets -

Give me Dylan any day,

Dylan was onto somethin'...

Don't give a shit about Delgado,

Eldorado, Ovid, or Plato,

Don't give a shit about the meaning -

I just like the way the words flow,

Slipping like soapsuds off the tip of my tongue,

Careening through soundwaves,

Landing on your lips, fully hung

Where it is your choice

To take them

and eat them

or leave them for the hungry kids

who are simply starving for the truth.

I write because I didn't know I had a choice,

Didn't know I had a chance

to be something else

besides one of them shit, fuck, damn poets

one of them don't give a fuck poets

one of them fuck with me and i'll

fuck you up poets.

Been told to clean it up,

Make it pretty for little girl ears,

But I ain't got no other way

to make my message clear

and loud

and loud and clear

and here.

right. here.

right. now.

This is me.

One of them shit, fuck, damn poets;

one of them cunt, cock, cocaine poets.

I will never give you sunshine

and rain poetry,

Never give you flowers and

mainstream poetry.

And you can give me your 7.9s

and I'll retort by getting up here each and

every time. i. can.

Trying to flood out all the bullshit

you've been spoonfed

by mommy and daddy,

carter, reagan, bush,

push you to see what kids like me gotta' go through.

And you can tell me to clean it all up

but until you can help me

stop little girls from being raped by drunken daddies,

clean those little girls up off the street,

bring Matthew Shepherd back

and Martin Luther King back

Let freedom TRULY ring

and hear my sisters sing about what TRUE. love. is.

I won't.

shut.

up.

last - next