current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

Autobiography of a slam poet
2003-01-17, 4:11 p.m.

I am poetry created between man and woman,

mother and father.

I am the fusion of sperm and ova,

the evolution from blastocyte to being.

I am bone, teeth, hair, eyes.

I am slower than light, smoother than water,

and further than Jupiter�s Io.

I am the mystery of the deepest black,

the scream of blazing white,

the convolution of the shades between.

I am seventy-percent water,

thirty percent woman.

I am�

I am everything.

I am poetry created between moon and earth, sun and stars.

I am the immortality of Lestat,

the immorality of a Mesopotamian harlot,

the reality of daytime talk shows.

I am paint on canvas, graphite on paper,

wielding words as sabers and women as treasure.

I am rainbow-eyed and colorblind,

tripping over the blacks and the grays,

stumbling toward the lavenders and the cornflowers.

I am twin sister chromosomes,

codons in a sequence, waxing poetic.

I am protons, neutrons, electrons.

I am�

I am nothing.

last - next