current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

Redistribution of Wealth...
2002-08-29, 7:49 p.m.

Stranded in an all-night laundro-mat,

Surrounded by designer jeans...

They can afford Calvin and Ralph and Tommy -

But they can't afford the means

To clean them...

Like the families you see

With the kid on the side of the road

In one sock and no shirt

(I was that kid) -

They can afford to have them,

But can't keep them up...

A boy smiles at me,

Hoping I'll notice his Doc's,

but all I see is the gap in his mouth

Where a tooth should be...

And the holes in his socks...

They say we're apathetic

And the rich kids are all trying

To live up to that,

Paying for the designer Welfare class

With their Goodwill clothes...

(I am that kid)

The poor kids don't realize

That they could've been "popular"

(whatever the fuck THAT is)

If they would have just stayed the same -

Apathetic and dirty.

last - next