current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

call me home.
1/12/05, 9:30 a.m.

evan slips his fingers into my mouth... spills down my chin... soaking pajamas... he always tasted best early in the morning...
he always tasted best... washing venom down my throat.

the morning light is unforgiving. surrounded by heaps and piles of things unpacked for the better half of a year... waiting to be shoved into garbage bags and hauled to the next resting point. this instability. this inability to find that one place... that will call me home. and yet... i glance at this city that surrounds me... and am surprised when i know no faces.

mama new orleans... call me home. wrap me in that cloak of security, that mesh of unwashed arms... press your filthy cheek upon mine and feast upon my tears. mama new orleans... let me dance with naked feet on antifreeze street corners with the unclean... let me call them family. let them call me daughter. sister. friend. mama new orleans... call me home.

last - next