current ~ archives ~ profile ~ links ~ email ~ notes ~ host

directionless
2003-04-21, 12:23 p.m.

Legs slip-slip-sliding,

one over the other...

Shower-wet and sun-warm,

torn at junctions

Like skin meets bone

Meets the blade on the bathroom floor.

Like whiskey and coke

meet the boredom of the kitchen floor.

And I've been stuck like Calypso's Odysseus

at this crossroads for five years now,

Can't find the directions

I wrote on that napkin in '97;

stuck them in my pocket

and left my pants under someone else's bed

somewhere. along the road.

And I would be strolling carefree...

If I just. knew. where to go.

Just knew which road would lead me

safely to sanity,

But I lost those directions

so. long. ago.

And I wake up everyday in the same fucking place

seeing the same fucking faces

trying to replace the memory of the little

trailor-trash girl with the untied laces,

before the free-basin'

before the molestation

and incarcerations.

Before I lost all sense of direction,

Started carving right and left

into my arms

So I could remember which way was up.

Which way was wrong.

And they can fill me to the seams

With their pretty little pills

and psycho-ther-rape-me,

Lock me up with their Thallidymide dreams

until I come clean...

Find out what I mean

when i say...

I just... lost the road...

And maybe I shouldn't find it

Because...

being lost is all I've ever known.

And maybe I don't need your fucking directions...

Maybe I'll just sit here.

Until it's time.

to go home.

last - next